Skip to content

Juvenile Little Blue Heron White Morph – Sanibel, Florida

October 25, 2013

I photographed this Little Blue Heron on the beach at Sanibel, Florida.

Florida Bird Photography - Close-up of a Juvenile Little Blue Heron White Morph photographed at Sanibel, Florida using Canon EOS 7D and 70-200mm 2.8 IS II

Photograph captured with a Canon 7D camera and 70-200mm 2.8 IS lens

Once again, I was mesmerized how “relaxed” birds are in Florida and only took close-up shots of this bird, even though I was using 70-200mm lens. Since I don’t have any other photographs of this bird, I hope I’m correct with the ID.  I based it mostly on the color of this bird’s beak, especially the darker tip. While photographing it, I simply thought it was a Great Egret. Taking closer look at the color of its beak, I quickly scratched that idea. While searching the web, I found that there is a White Morph of a Great Blue Heron. Interesting! Since I don’t remember any other details, I’m not sure if it fits the description of that bird though.

What do you think? Am I correct? Please let me know in the comments section. Thank you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

