Skip to content

Crested Caracara in West Windsor Township, New Jersey

September 23, 2012
tags: ,

Getting back to posting my bird photography here on the blog. Getting back with a big bang too!

Two weeks ago I was fortunate to photograph rare bird for New Jersey – Crested Caracara.

I missed this bird twice during my birding trip to Florida last Spring. Who knew that it will be looking for me here in NJ this Summer ūüėČ

For about a week this bird was reported and successfully viewed by many in West Windsor Twp. On the day I visited it was seen sitting in the field low in the grass for about 7 hours!

Crested Caracara РCaracara cheriway РWest Windsor Township, New Jersey

I must arrive in the right time though. Within 45 minutes of my arrival Crested Caracara started to walk around foraging on insects and about 15 minutes later it flew to the utility pole.

Crested Caracara РCaracara cheriway РWest Windsor Township, New Jersey

For more on this bird, more photographs and video, please follow this link to my new blog: http://www.greggard.com/blog/2012/9/crested-caracara-west-windsor-new-jersey-rare-bird

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

