Skip to content

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks in Cape May

November 16, 2010

Back in September, I was spending a weekend in Cape May, New Jersey. It is about three hour drive from where I live and it isn’t easy for me to find time to get down there very often. As I was driving that day, I was aware that I’ve missed a rare visitors to the state, Black-bellied Whistling ducks, just by couple of days. There were no reports but I’ve decided to go anyway.
It wasn’t a big day for birding as I hoped for. The spotlight of the trip was a huge migration of the Monarchs. Wow, what a sight! I’ve never seen so many butterflies at one place at the same time.
As the day was coming to the end, I was about to give up, when over sudden I saw four ducks approaching the pond. I figured that I will try to get some landing shots. I set the focus on the incoming ducks, and to my surprise I recognized that these were indeed Black-bellied Whistling ducks! I was so happy that finally I’ve got a chance to see these beautiful ducks and add another species to my life list.
Lesson learnt on this trip: It pays off to stick around a little bit longer 🙂

Here are couple of shots taken just before the sunset:

Black-bellied Whistling ducks ©Greg Gard - greggard.com - Canon EOS 7D, 300mm F2.8 IS, ISO 400, 1/100s, f/4 AV mode - tripod mounted - Cropped Frame.


Black-bellied Whistling ducks ©Greg Gard - greggard.com - Canon EOS 7D, 300mm F2.8 IS, ISO 400, 1/400s, f/4 AV mode - tripod mounted - Cropped Frame.

and a short video:

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 11:32 am

    Congratulations on seeing the Black-bellied Whistling ducks! Stunning photographs (beautiful lighting)! I joy to view the short video, as well. Wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

